Castle Hayne Elementary

CastleHayne

Character, Honor, Excellence and Self-Discipline

MENU

Faculty & Staff

Administration

Sam Highsmith
Sam Highsmith
Principal
samuel.highsmith@nhcs.net

 

Hello Hurricanes! I’m excited to once again serve as the proud principal of Castle Hayne Elementary School! Being a life-long Wilmingtonian and a product of its school system, I am committed to making our school the shining gem of northern New Hanover County! I was blessed to attend Gregory and Tileston Elementary Schools, Sunset Park Jr. High School, and Williston 9th Grade Center. After graduating from John T. Hoggard High School I enrolled in the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (yes I am a Tar Heel Born and Bred!) where I received a Bachelors of Science degree in Industrial Relations. After a career change I received my teaching certification and Masters of School Administration from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.
 
I served as a volunteer coach at my alma mater Hoggard High School before becoming a social studies teacher there in 1992. After 7 great years of teaching and coaching, I accepted the North Carolina Principals Fellows Scholarship in 1999 and began my pursuit of a career in administration. I was hired as the first Assistant Principal of Eugene Ashley High School in 2001. I moved to Hubert A. Eaton Elementary School in 2006, then to Myrtle Grove Middle School in 2009. In 2012 I was blessed to be named Principal of Myrtle Grove and served in that capacity for 5 years. In 2017 I was blessed again by being assigned to serve as Principal of the Castle! It’s an amazing feeling to have worked my entire educational career in the same school system that raised and nurtured me!
 
I am married to an amazing woman and fellow educator, Pam, who I met while teaching at Hoggard High School. She currently teaches math at Ashley High School. We have been blessed with 2 children, Alex and Lauryn, both successful graduates of Ashley High School. Alex is a senior at the UNC-Charlotte and Lauryn is a sophomore at my alma mater UNC-Chapel Hill.
Beth Scott
Beth Scott
Assistant Principal
beth.scott@nhcs.net 
I am thrilled to serve as the Assistant Principal at Castle Hayne! I have been here since Castle Hayne opened in 2009. I am a Wilmington native and take pride in being educated in New Hanover County Schools. I attended East Carolina University and earned my degrees from UNCW.
 
This is my story.
 
I began my career with a BS in Business Administration, working in the business world for several years. Then I had children and I found my passion and my Business became children.
 
I went back to UNCW and graduated 3 more times. I began with a Certification in Elementary Education, where I was awarded the Promise of Excellence in Teaching Award. I taught Kindergarten, First Grade, and K/1 Multi-age classes for 15 years. During that time I earned my National Board Certification, a Master’s Degree in Language and Literacy, and a Certification in School Administration, which led me to serving as the Assistant Principal at Castle Hayne!
 
Although a Wilmington native and love where I live, I have lived in Texas and Arkansas. I am happily married and have three married daughters who have blessed me with 2 grandsons and 2 granddaughters so far. In my spare time you will find me with my family and friends, at the beach, reading, and always eager to learn new things!

Pre-K Team

Jennifer Sulloway
jennifer.sulloway@nhcs.net
Teresa Brandon
teresa.brandon@nhcs.net 

The Kindergarten Team

Angela Hayden
Mrs. Angela Hayden 
angela.hayden@nhcs.net
 Bridgette Johnson
Mrs. Bridgette Johnson 
bridgette.johnson@nhcs.net
Merideth Perry
meredith.perry@nhcs.net
Jenni Roberson
Mrs. Jenni Roberson
jennifer.roberson@nhcs.net 
Tamara Williams
Ms. Tamara Williams 
tamara.williams@nhcs.net

1st Grade Team

Marissa Czombos
Mrs. Marissa Czombos 
marissa.czombos@nhcs.net
Candice Houseman
Mrs. Candice Houseman
candice.houseman@nhcs.net
Holly Jones
Ms. Holly Jones 
holly.jones@nhcs.net
Brittany Colagerakis
Ms. Brittany Colagerakis 
brittany.colagerakis@nhcs.net
Katie Connors

Mrs. Katie Connors
katherine.connor@nhcs 

2nd Grade Team

Angela Hicks
angelica.hicks@nhcs.net
Kerrigan McAlarney
kerrigan.mcalarney@nhcs.net
Melinda Miller
Ms. Melinda Miller 
melinda.miller@nhcs.net
Kay Johnson
Mrs. Kayli Johnson 
kayli.johnson@nhcs.net
Jessica Williams
Mrs. Jessica Williams 
jessica.williams@nhcs.net 

3rd Grade Team

Megan Bradley
Ms. Megan Bradley 
megan.bradley2@nhcs.net 
Todd Trevor
Mr. Trevor Todd 
trevor.todd2@nhcs.net
Megan Burley
Mrs. Megan Burley 
megan.fede@nhcs.net 
Mary Sulava

Mrs. Mary Sulava 
Mary.Sulava@nhcs.net 

Kayla Graham
Ms. Kayla Graham 
kayla.graham@nhcs.net 

4th Grade Team

Cathy Duerr
Ms. Cathy Duerr 
cathy.duerr@nhcs.net
Denise Fox
Mrs. Denise Fox 
denise.fox@nhcs.net 
Robert Voetsch-Rainford
robert.voetschrainfo@nhcs.net 
Marissa Heckell
Mrs. Marissa Heckel
marissa.heckel@nhcs.net

5th Grade Team

Chelsea Litzinger
Ms. Chelsea Litzinger 
chelsea.litzinger@nhcs.net 
Amanda Edwards
Ms. Amanda Edwards
amanda.edwards2@nhcs.ne 
Sarah White
Ms. Sarah White 
sarah.white@nhcs.net
Michelle Brainard
Ms. Michelle Brainard 
michelle.brainard@nhcs.net

Teacher Assistants

Becca Beitel
Mrs. Becca Beitel 
rebecca.beitel@nhcs.net 
Saralyn Bland
Mrs. Saralyn Bland 
saralyn.bland@nhcs.net
Sheryl Eamma
Mrs. Sheryl Eamma 
sheryl.eamma@nhcs.net 
Kelly Carr
Mrs. Kelly Carr 
kelly.carr@nhcs.net 
Tracy Nowak
Ms. Tracy Nowak 
tracy.nowak@nhcs.net 
Deborah Swart
Mrs. Deborah Swart 
deborah.swart@nhcs.net 
Camie Westbrook
Mrs. Camie Westbrook
camie.westbrook@nhcs.net
Terri Dearie
Mrs. Terri Dearie 
terri.dearie@nhcs.net 

Tutors

Jen Fiddler
Jen Fiddler 
jennifer.fiddler@nhcs.net
Melissa Shaw
Melissa Shaw 
melissa.shaw@nhcs.net
Sara Boyette
sara.boyette@nhcs.net

Tricia Crimmel

Brittany Hunt

Our Specialist Team

Peggy Clearly
Ms. Peggy Cleary
Art 
margaret.cleary@nhcs.net 
Catherine Charles
Ms. Catherine Charles
Music
catherine.charles@nhcs.net 
Nathan Faulk
Mr. Nathan Faulk 
Physical Education
nathan.faulk@nhcs.net 
Lori Winner
Mrs. Lori Winner 
Media Specialist 
lori.winner@nhcs.net 

Our Resource Staff

Brandy Conley
Mrs. Brandy Conley
ESL 
brandy.conley@nhcs.net 
Carrie Herstine
Mrs. Carrie Herstine
Instructional Coach 
carrie.herstine@nhcs.net 
Allison Linkner
Mrs. Alison Linkner
AIG 
alison.linkner@nhcs.net 

Our EC Team

Miranda Lancaster
Miranda Lancaster
EC
miranda.lancaster3@nhcs.net
Anthony Corvino
Mr. Anthony Corvino
EC 
anthony.corvino@nhcs.net 
Shauna Pirozzolo
Mrs. Shauna Pirozzolo
EC 
shauna.pirozzolo@nhcs.net 
Tracy Plumley
Mrs. Tracy Plumley
Speech Therapist 
tracy.plumley@nhcs.net 
Sarah Rose
Ms. Sarah Rose
EC 
sarah.rose@nhcs.net 

Our EC Para-Educators

Heather Noe
Mrs. Heather Noe 
Heather.Noe@nhcs.net
Saundra Stevens
Mrs. Saundra Stevens 
saundra.stevens@nhcs.net 
Mary Jo Stewart
Mrs. Mary Jo Stewart 
mary.stewart@nhcs.net 
Megan Thomas
Ms. Megan Thomas
megan.thomas@nhcs.net

Our Office Staff

Kristen Aust
Mrs. Kristen Aust
Counselor
kristen.aust@nhcs.net 
Matt Barker
Mr. Matt Barker
Mental Health matt.barker@nhcs.net 
Kristin Bednarczyk
Mrs. Kristin Bednarczyk
Receptionist
kristin.bednarczyk@nhcs.net 
Colleen Applewhite
Ms. Colleen Applewhite
School Nurse
colleen.applewhite@nhcs.net
Laura Martinez
Ms. Laura Martinez
Psychologist
laura.martinez@nhcs.net 
Paula Pavlik
Mrs. Paula Pavlik
Data Manager paula.pavlik@nhcs.ne 
Candy Robbins
Ms. Candy Robbins
Social Worker 
linda.robbins@nhcs.net 
Lisa Todd
Mrs. Lisa Todd
Treasurer 
lisa.todd@nhcs.ne 
Frances Mueses
Ms. Frances Mueses 
Parent Liason
frances.mueses@nhcs.net 

Our Custodial Staff

Wanda Hill-Wells
Ms. Wanda Hill-Wells
wanda.hill@nhcs.net 
Ursla Mitchell
Ms. Ursla Mitchell
ursla.mitchell@nhcs.net 

Ms. Danielle Williams

Mr. Shawn Daniels

Mr. Mike Mashack

Our Cafeteria Staff

Nancy Ward
Ms. Nancy Ward
nancy.ward@nhcs.net
Andrea McMillan
Ms. Andrea McMillan
andrea.mcmillan@nhcs.net
Amy Tackett

Amy Tackett

Martina Messenger

Martina Messenger